LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is a thing, cue the hype

Warner Brothers Interactive Entertainment, TT Games, and The LEGO Group announced today LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens, marking the return of the LEGO video game sub-franchise that kicked off the LEGO video game craze.

LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens launches on June 28th, 2016 for PS4, PS3, PS Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PC, Wii U, 3DS, and will bring new gameplay mechanics to build, battle, and fly through a galaxy far, far away. If you’re wondering if it’s just a rehash of the movie’s plot, well…it is, sort of. The game includes all of the movie’s content like Starkiller Base, but it also provides some of that juicy backstory that Star Wars fans, like myself, have been asking for.


“We’re extremely proud of the LEGO Star Wars videogames, truly an incredible franchise that has sold more than 33 million copies and helped ignite a passion for numerous fun-filled LEGO games enjoyed by countless gamers around the world,” said Tom Stone, Managing Director, TT Games. “LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens will be pushing the series forward with innovative new gameplay mechanics, while also exploring new parts of the universe that are sure to excite and delight both LEGO and  Star Wars fans, as well as newcomers to our games.”

“We are thrilled to be bringing back the LEGO Star Wars videogame franchise, which kicked off such a beloved series of LEGO titles more than a decade ago,” said Ada Duan, Vice President, Digital Business & Franchise Management, Lucasfilm. “LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens allows players to experience the new film in a unique way that only TT Games can provide, combining signature humor with epic Star Wars action. With exclusive story content exploring new details about the movie and its characters, it’s a perfect fit for fans young and old.”

“We are delighted to return to the Star Wars Universe and continue the journey with the franchise that started it all for LEGO videogames.” said Niels Jørgensen, Vice President, Digital Games for the LEGO Group. “LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens will offer an amazing gaming experience covering not only the movie but also exclusive content with all the fun and humor you would expect from a LEGO game, while delivering the epic Star Wars adventure fans expect.”


LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens will include characters from The Force Awakens such as Rey, Finn, Poe Dameron, Han Solo, Chewbacca, C-3PO, BB-8, Kylo Ren, General Hux, and Captain Phasma.

Some of the previously mentioned features that are new to this entry include the enhanced “Multi-Builds” system, where you can basically choose how you want to build a certain item to advance throughout the level. You’ll also be able to engage in “Blaster Battles”, using your environment as your weapon against the First Order. Star Wars fans will also be happy to know that you can now playthrough dogfights in space, as well as arena battles, with such vehicles as the one-and-only Millennium Falcon.


For my people, the PlayStation fans, you’ll be happy to know that, yes, this LEGO game also includes exclusive DLC for PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3, which consists of the Droid Character Pack and Phantom Limb Level Pack, although there are no details as to what these packs will entail, other than the obvious droids and limbs.



One thought on “LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is a thing, cue the hype

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s